Flu Musings

So far this year has been hell on my resolutions; both writing and regular. There are so many things to do and never enough time to get it all done. Even though I have a few weeks of free time, I am in a writing black hole. While I could be writing, I feel blocked creatively; hence, no work on my writing resolutions. Another distraction is this wonderful lingering case of a cold/sinus infection/allergies/the flu which is a wonderful way to avoid work. So I have to keep reminding myself that I am committed to finishing grad school this year and getting my MFA so that I can pursue another degree but I am also trying to devote some much needed time to completing several stories that are clamoring for attention.

I am also trying to work on my family genealogy, which is a project that I started in 1997. I’ve discovered that in this family there are quite a few interesting stories I’d like to explore. I definitely want to teach a few workshops, and write some poems for children (it seems challenging). So while I’ve been slacking so far, I am dedicated to doing better. After all, I have the remainder of the year to get on track, to publish new material and finish my degree.

 

Leave a Reply

