Networking, even when you don’t want to

It has been a particularly trying week for this writer. I suffered a devastating loss but am still trying to maintain my commitment to writing and stay on track with my thesis plans.  It has been hard which is why I’m going to break one of my rules and attend a writing group tomorrow. I’m not anti-writing group, I have had some good experiences in community and school based writing groups. However, as a rule, I’m not a fan of writing groups simply because it takes three meetings or more to get a read on the other writers and sometimes that’s just too much time. One of my writing resolutions is to spend more time networking so I’ve stuffed a handful of business cards in my bag, along with copies of my latest stories.     Although I’m a people person I don’t always like people; hence, my preference for a solitary profession.

On a side note, I am trying not to be distracted by several other stories that are clamoring for attention right now. But they are begging for my attention so I am taking notes on them and continuing to work on my thesis; which is a collection of four novellas. So far, I’ve started all four stories and have a strong sense of where they’re going hopefully I will benefit from attending (not joining) this session.

 

Leave a Reply

