Part II- Invaded

Okay, this is part two of the poetry triptych. It’s a piece that was previously featured on the blog and it inspired me to create two pieces around it. I didn’t make any changes to this piece but I’m thinking of expanding it. It was written to explore the five senses. I hope you enjoy.

 

  

Invaded

 

On the really bad days

I can still taste

the salty sweetness of his sweaty skin 

Even ensconced in this concrete castle

I recall the smell of coffee, the sea, and the feel of the cool breeze

 blowing across my bare back, can still feel the sunshine bronzing

my skin as surely as if I’m standing on the sands of Montego

If I close my eyes I can still see the smooth caramel thighs

that lay stretched across the bed tangled in the white sheets

Like mountains against the clouds I can still hear his laugh

while picturing him seated at the table drinking Red Stripe his smile bubbling over his lips

 

On the really bad days

He never leaves my mind, it’s like he packed himself in my luggage

 along with the rest of my things

His scent has invaded my senses and I carry him with me everywhere

 

 

Leave a Reply

