No Break on Valentine’s Day

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.
~Maya Angelou

Right now I am the living embodiment of this quote. I feel as if there are at least seven great stories inside of me and it is painful to be unable to pour them all out. I wish that I had the ability to do as Zora Neale Hurston(whom the above quote is also attributed to) was alleged to have done and write a great novel in 37 days. I remember being impressed when I learned that she supposedly wrote “Their Eyes Were Watching God” in such a short amount of time. But she didn’t have all this technology disrupting her work. Alas, life and distractions are always around the corner. For me the hardest part of being a writer is simply sitting down to work. The stories and dialogue are always in my head but I feel as if as soon as I’m ready to write life starts calling and pulling me away from the computer. Right now I’m working on an academic paper that is taking up all of my time but I hope to have new poetry, fiction, or something creative next week.

I hope that all of you are having better luck creating. Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

