Night Owl Life

Dear Readers,

I have something to share. You know the people who text, call, Facebook message, email or otherwise contact you at 2 a.m. like it’s 2 in the afternoon? That’s me! My internal clock has been screwed up for as long as I can remember and I have become used to it. I almost texted one of my close friends at 1:00 this morning, granted this friend may have been up because she had a mid-term at 10 this morning but I didn’t want to interrupt her studying. Almost everyone in my life knows that if anything is going on they can call me. I can stay up until 5 a.m. and still be semi-productive at work. When other people are winding down for the night I am getting my second wind. But I recently realized while I was up doing some work and plotting a couple of new stories that there’s nothing wrong with being a night owl. Sometimes I am industrious and accomplish quite a few things. Other times I lie in bed and read, or have fantasies about Dwayne Johnson or Dr. J (don’t judge me), or listen to TV or watch it.

I have come to grips with my status as a part- time insomniac. So tonight when I’m up I hope to write, do some yoga, or work on a paper that’s due in three weeks. At any rate, while some up you are sleeping I will be up living the night owl life.

Leave a Reply

