Never Too Busy

I completely forgot about posting yesterday although I started working on a post on Monday. This has been a very exhausting week; even though it’s technically Spring Break for me I have been hard at work. I am working on a research paper, storyboarding two different ideas, and trying to get this dialogue for one of my stories out of my head and onto paper. So as I’m sure you all understand I have not been able to work on new poetry. We should never be too busy for poetry so I decided to share another of my favorites. I am always inspired by the words of the brilliant Gwendolyn Brooks. “We Real Cool” is my absolute favorite Brooks poem and I am powerless to explain its allure.

I hope everyone enjoys this short poem. Have a great weekend!

We Real Cool by Gwendolyn Brooks

We real cool. We
Left School. We

Lurk late. We
Strike straight. We

Sing sin. We
Thin gin. We

Jazz June. We
Die soon.

Poem courtesy of Famous Poets and Poems.com

http://www.famouspoetsandpoems.com/poets/gwendolyn_brooks/poems/4140

Leave a Reply

