The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

I am not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this on the blog before but I am an absolute sports fanatic. I am talking about a lover of the four major sports, college basketball, football and baseball too. I will even watch lacrosse and rugby not soccer though. Up until last year my favorite time of the year was October; it is when all four sports converge into a beautiful sports lover’s dream. Last October, in addition to my own personal troubles and eventual loss there was a lockout in hockey, Jeter got injured in the first game against Detroit, Ray Lewis was injured, and I could not focus on basketball at all.I know it may seem a bit incongruous for a writer to espouse her love of sports but I promise to bring it full circle.

So I decided to really accept my second favorite time of the year. March Madness. College basketball is such a huge part of my life to the point that I wrote a poem about the Georgetown’s twin towers, Alonzo Mourning and Dikembe Mutombo, when I was in the seventh grade. Seriously! I wish that I still had that poem, I’m sure that it was actually pretty decent. That was probably one of the things that made me fall in love with poetry because I found out that I could write about anything, any subject and the poem would still work. In college I used to schedule my classes in the spring around the tournament and I would purposely try not to miss days so that I could afford to miss a Thursday or Friday class when the games first started. I am ready for this year’s tourney; I might even fill out a bracket or participate in some contests.

Are any of you fans of March Madness?

Leave a Reply

