I Want to Write

I Want to Write

I want to write
I want to write the songs of my people.
I want to hear them singing melodies in the dark.
I want to catch the last floating strains from their sob-torn
throats.
I want to frame their dreams into words; their souls into
notes.
I want to catch their sunshine laughter in a bowl;
fling dark hands to a darker sky
and fill them full of stars
then crush and mix such lights till they become
a mirrored pool of brilliance in the dawn.

– Margaret Walker

The above poem is by author and poet Margaret Walker. I remember discovering her work as a freshman in college. There was a special feeling,being engrossed in her book Jubilee. At various times in my life I have experienced writer’s envy; meaning I have been jealous of what someone else has written. It happened when I read Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye and Song of Solomon, when I read The Color Purple and it happens every time I read To Kill A Mockingbird. One of the reasons that I love this poem is that she manages to capture her inspiration for writing and she does it so beautifully. I have a poem similar to this trying to describe my writing motives.

As I struggle to create new poetry this month I realize that writing gives me the same type of relief and happiness that reading does. It relaxes me and sometimes I can’t believe that I created something so beautiful. I hope that Walker’s poem inspires some of you or that you just enjoy it.
Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

