Poetry…

image

image

Poetry is the rhythmical creation of beauty in words.
-Edgar Allan Poe

I think that I have mentioned before that one of the items on my 2013 list of Writer’s Resolutions is to attend more literary events including book signings, writer’s conferences, book festivals, and readings. For me it is important to socialize as an author, not just to network but also because being a writer is such a solitary existence.

Yesterday I attended a poetry reading at a local bookstore. The event was part of the celebration of National Poetry Month and it was wonderful. I was especially motivated by another poet there. She was 83! An 83 year old poet, and the wisdom and beauty of her poetry was simply amazing. She covered a wide range of subjects in her pieces and I can only hope to still be alive and creating at that age.

I read a couple of pieces and although the crowd was small it was a great experience. My courage was bolstered by makeup and my word nerd t-shirt. So I am already looking forward to doing it again and possibly putting together my own poetry reading soon.

I hope you’re all enjoying your weekend.

Leave a Reply

