Can a Shoe Obsession be Sensual?

To be sensual, I think, is to respect and rejoice in the force of life, of life itself, and to be present in all that one does, from the effort of loving to the making of bread.
-James A. Baldwin

I adore this Baldwin quote and wanted to write something inspired by it. So I tried to think of something that makes me feel sensual and present and noticeable; something that I am comfortable enough in to go about the daily activities of life in. So the following poem is about shoes, specifically high heels. I have had a lifelong obsession with shoes but for me heels are the best.
So this poem is dedicated to the heels that I love and the friends who do not try to put me on shoe restriction.

image

Ode to Sexy Shoes

With you I change my walk.
I stalk,
every surface as if it’s a runway.
You cause me to wear
confidence like the sexiest
dress.
With you I am
strengthened.
I stand a bit taller,
my body is more at ease.
With you
I am balanced, more comfortable, and graceful.
While others might not like you
And think you’ll cause them pain.
They’re entitled to their opinion
But I am positive
that you’ll never hurt me.
No matter your height
There are no missteps.
You make me feel sexy in ways that
Only songs by Prince and Lenny Kravitz should.
I am a smaller, less confident, uncertain version of myself without you.

Leave a Reply

