Optimistic

love and optimism

I hated you
for making me love you.
For reminding me that I can be
pretty and smart, or whatever else I wanted to be.
For teaching me that love is permanent but relationships aren’t.
For being loyal, in a way that only you could understand.
For being possessive
but learning how to leave me alone.
Even when you knew that I didn’t want you to.
For matching my fire hot temper
and giving as good as you got.
For teaching me about jealousy
and all that it entails.

I never told you because your head was already big enough
but I loved you.
For allowing me to be me,
for taking what I gave you,
for simply being you.
At the time, to me it was enough.
But sometimes love,
is just love.
And you taught me that.

One thought on “Optimistic

Leave a Reply

