Where All the Librarians Know Your Name!

PointsOfInterestShepardPrudentLibrary

I have been practically living in my local library this summer and aside from a nasty incident with an audio book I have been completely satisfied. So as I was waiting to check out last week I realized that the majority of the staff are on a first name basis with me. I fully expect to walk in one day and have them all whisper my name! As if I’m Norm from Cheers.
For a book lover such as myself, even in the age of technology’s invasion on publication and the Google-ization of learning there is something incredible about the library. I am still enamored with the aisles upon aisles of books. I don’t remember my first trip to the library but I have fallen in love with libraries in many different cities and on quite a few military installations. I even donate books because I believe in the power of reading. As a writer, I think that ebooks are wonderful but nothing compares to reading a physical book, turning the pages, fingertips gripping them. I love the feel of holding a book in my hand, of carrying a stack from the library, being excited to go home and dive into them.

2 thoughts on “Where All the Librarians Know Your Name!

  1. Jill Lichtenwalner Weil says:

    When I interviewed at Barnes and Noble and they asked me why I wanted to work there (as opposed to some other store in the mall) I told them books were my favorite smell. I was hired on the spot. Ha!

Leave a Reply

