raisin in the sun
hughes typing

Last week was extremely crazy for me as one of my favorite people in the universe got married. I read Like Fire for Everything during the ceremony, I have also been busy wrapping up this Composition Theory & Teaching course, and possibly getting hired by a local university (yay!!!). In light of all of that I have not written any new poetry {or fiction} but I have been reciting lines from Langston Hughes’ A Dream Deferred all week long. Okay, let me be honest with you all, a huge part of the reason that this poem has been stuck in my head is because it inspired the great Lorraine Hanesberry in creating the title for her play A Raisin in the Sun, a revival of which will be on Broadway in April starring Denzel Washington, Diahann Carroll, Anika Noni Rose, and Sophie Okonedo. I will be in attendance! There has been no deferred dream yet but I particularly love the initial question, “What happens to a dream deferred?” I am constantly questioning how I will respond to the next time that my dreams are put off, cast aside, or put on hold.

Although short and sweet, Hughes’ poem is emotive and a bit evocative as it appeals to the senses. I can imagine all of these possibilities happening to a postponed dream. When it comes to fulfilling promise I am always full of words and thoughts but this poem is a constant reminder to keep working towards my goals.

Harlem [Dream Deferred]

What happens to a dream deferred?

Does it dry up
like a raisin in the sun?
Or fester like a sore—
And then run?
Does it stink like rotten meat?
Or crust and sugar over—
like a syrupy sweet?

Maybe it just sags
like a heavy load.

Or does it explode?
– Langston Hughes

Leave a Reply

