The Importance of Reaching…

reach-out-hand-300

“Story first, “writing” second” is a fundamental guiding principle when it comes to writing an effective story. Ignore it at your peril.

One of my personal goals and # 11 on this year’s writing resolutions list is to participate in National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWriMo. I am looking forward to crossing this off my list and I hope that it goes well. I’ve wrangled in a few of my writing friends from undergrad and we are all set to tackle this goal. Although another goal was to write 500 words a day and I’ve failed miserably at that. I’ve decided to take my victories and failings in stride and to always keep reaching.

In planning for NaNoWriMo, which I am participating in for the first time this year, I wanted to prepare myself by doing a bit of brushing up on the importance of story. I found the above quote to be particularly inspiring. It reminded me of how I want to approach next month. As I have mentioned before, I have a story that I planned to finish or totally revamp this year and that’s the piece that I’ll be focusing on next month. The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words over 30 days; that’s basically 1667 words a day. Which seems like enough time and words to know whether the story is worth salvaging and I am looking forward to digging in. So next month I will probably only feature poems on the blog, some will be pieces from the beginning of the blog and others are new and haven’t appeared yet.

Do any of you have NaNoWriMo goals or plans to participate?

If you’re interested in learning more click here http://nanowrimo.org/

Leave a Reply

