For A Poet

American Poet Countee Cullen was a prominent participant of the Harlem Renaissance. Like this poet he developed a love and affinity for the art at an early age and began writing when he was 14. One of the things that set him apart from his Renaissance counterparts was his avoidance of racial issues but I still find his voice deserving of praise.
Countee Cullen’s “For A Poet” is a piece that I spent years trying to emulate. It contains the type of rhyme pattern and voice that appealed to the young developing poet of my teenage years. This poem’s attributes and imagery are ample in the single stanza that Cullen wrote.

cullen

I have wrapped my dreams in a silken cloth,
And laid them away in a box of gold;
Where long will cling the lips of the moth,
I have wrapped my dreams in a silken cloth;
I hide no hate; I am not even wroth
Who found the earth’s breath so keen and cold;
I have wrapped my dreams in a silken cloth,
And laid them away in a box of gold.

-Countee Cullen

Leave a Reply

