New Addiction- Laura Lippman

happy books

As many of you know, I am a bibliophile. I love, love, love a good book. I recently stumbled across a book on the new releases shelf at my library and I was intrigued by the plot of the book. The novel I read was Laura Lippman’s latest release After I’m Gone. Well, it was amazing! This is the first of her novels that I have read and now I’m addicted. I’ve already picked up a couple more Lippman releases. I read the entire book and discovered that Lippman is married to David Simon (The Wire, Homicide: Life on the Streets, The Corner and decorated journalist) and he gave his wife the idea of writing about the story that lies at the core of the book. After I’m Gone is an amazingly brilliant story inspired by real life events but Lippman didn’t solve the core mystery she instead focused on those left behind. It really struck a chord with me as I am tackling the issue in a paper about the same topic in Toni Morrison’s Song of Solomon. Needless to say, once again, I am in love. There is power in the words and works of our authors. I hope that you all are taking the time to enjoy them this National Reading Month.

Leave a Reply

