A Poet with a Pen (un poète avec une plume)

poetB

This piece was inspired by the article “The Quick and the Dead: An Energy Crisis in Poetry” by Charles Harper Webb which appeared in the February 2014 issue of The Writer’s Chronicle . I was so struck by the opening words that I penned this while in the car waiting for my grandmother to finish grocery shopping.

~For Charles Harper Webb

I am
Loud, brilliant, audacious
obnoxiously so
I am
Quiet, sedate, dull
studiously complex
I am
Words strung together
On pages
Penned by tortured souls
Keats, Byron and Shelley
Sanchez, Brooks and McKay
I am
Poetry

Leave a Reply

