Do Not Send My People…

poetry-ink-blot

I am a poet. I have people, not like an entourage but my everyday people. You are all my people. Yes, following my blog makes me feel as if we’re all part of the cool nerd clique in middle and high school. Someone called me that when I was in the 8th grade; a cool nerd. So anyway, my other people include those who allow me to bug them while they’re on other continents or in the middle of lesson planning or in the midst of serious medical emergencies or who let me bug them when they’re “at work.” Anyway, this is a PSA to all the secret scribes hard at work on their craft. Please do not send my people any bad poems.

You all know me. I’m not a poetry snob. I like free verse and spoken word. I experiment with different types of poetry because I think that’s the mark of a committed poet. However, I always like poetry that makes sense. I like poems that expand the reader’s vocabulary. I really enjoy poems that cause thought but don’t cause your brain to bubble. You know those poems that need to be “deep” because all poetry is. Those are not the poems for me. I need poems that contain figurative language and literary devices. I like imagery. Wait, scratch that. I LOVE imagery and in my humble opinion the best poems allow the reader to imagine, they invoke, evoke, stimulate and stir. A bad poem doesn’t do any of that.

However, the one thing that a bad poem is guaranteed to do…is to make me want to rewrite it.

2 thoughts on “Do Not Send My People…

Leave a Reply

