Sorry

shange pic

Today, I wanted to share a section of one of my favorite monologues from Ntozake Shange’s for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf. I have always been drawn to this section; it appeals to the basest elements of my personality and I love it. There is a truth and honesty in these words that reflects my feelings about apologies and sorries. I hope you all enjoy!

“one thing I don’t need
is any more apologies
i got sorry greetin me at my front door
you can keep yrs
i don’t know what to do wit em
they don’t open doors
or bring the sun back
they don’t make me happy
or get a mornin paper
didn’t nobody stop usin my tears to wash cars
cuz a sorry.”
― Ntozake Shange, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf

Leave a Reply

