My 2015 Writer’s Resolutions

write it

Yes, I’m still doing this in spite of being a miserable failure at it in 2014. I think that I accomplished three goals out of ten but I am a big believer in achieving one’s goals so I just re-wrote the list sans the things I completed last year and added a few more. One of my favorite books as a child was “The Little Engine That Could” so this is my way of perpetuating the idea. As usual, I have mixed it up. I have some big things and some really minor things on my list. I’m not sharing the list here just giving you a brief overview of a few of the major and minor things that I hope to accomplish this year as a writer.

I am hoping that this is the year that I finally get to London although that isn’t one of my resolutions. I really need it to happen so keep your fingers crossed for me. I also hope to be able to go to AWP even though it’s in Minnesota which should be totally doable. I would definitely love to be a guest blogger at some point this year. Fortunately, I am going to be in the perfect place (hopefully) to accomplish to two of the other items on my list: a writing camp for young people and some big National Poetry Month events.

One of the things that’s always on my list every year is to submit (to literary journals) and I rarely ever do it so this year I am committed to submitting to at least six publications as well as finishing at least two of the novel that I’ve worked on in the last two years. I also have a short story that needs to be written; it’s been a concept since 2001 and I have so many crazy characters and twists to add to it.

Have any of you set some writing goals for yourself this year? How’s your list looking?

3 thoughts on “My 2015 Writer’s Resolutions

  1. betternotbroken says:

    My list was just a sentence, “Write everyday.” But perhaps you have inspired me to elaborate upon that and get more ambitious. Good luck in 2015 in meeting or exceeding your goals!

Leave a Reply

