Another Update

image

Every year, another one of my writing resolutions is to attend events. I always feel like getting out to support other authors, poets, spoken word artists and literary establishments is a wonderful way to network and gain confidence. Writing can be a solitary existence but in keeping this resolution I hope to expand my support system.

Early last month, I discovered that a local shop would be having a poetry slam. I was excited because I’m the advisor of a spoken word group on campus and I wanted those students to attend/participate. When I showed up, I wasn’t planning on anything besides enjoying a cup of tea and some good poetry.

What happened was much more. I ended up performing two pieces and being featured in the local newspaper. This wasn’t enough to make me cross attending events off my list for the year but it gave me immense pride and I  wanted to share that with all of you.

2 thoughts on “Another Update

Leave a Reply

