Sitting, Thinking and Overachieving

image

     I guess that I’m your typical overachiever. I love being a writer. I love writing. I love living with characters and images in my head. But right now…I am not loving it so much. I feel as if I have several series in me. I have these interconnected stories and then I have a group of ladies who all have their own stories that need to be told but…I am being pulled in a million different directions. I want to publish more, both academically and creatively, but who has time? I have maybe six months (excluding November) to get some work accomplished.

   I have a few academic papers that I want to polish off and see if they’re accepted. I am currently writing a new piece on the women of A Raisin in the Sun and I have another Zora Neale Hurston paper in development which I am really excited about. But the summer is so short that I feel as if I am going to miss several of my writing goals for the year. I’m not happy about that at all.

     Do you think that there’s such a thing as wanting to achieve too much?

Leave a Reply

