What happens when you go to the library hungry?

It’s been a long time since I’ve added one of these posts but here goes…

What happens when you go to the library hungry? This…

image

By hungry, I mean severely craving books. When I visited my local library last week
it had been a while since I went solely for pleasure of searching the stacks in the hopes of finding something exciting and compelling enough to keep me curled up in a story. I needed the relief that only reading can provide for someone who loves it.
I feel as if I have been wrapped up in work for this course and trying to get my own writing done in addition to course planning for the fall and working on my family genealogy. On Tuesday, I had a pretty decent research day looking for information about my ancestors and I’ve been able to start revising a paper but in the moment that I entered the library and smelled that fresh library smell I fell into full book nerd mode!

It’s so bad that I went to another branch of the library on a mad hunt yesterday, after researching said ancestry, looking for more books! I only picked up one, the latest Sandra Brown release, but I still wish that I would have found a few more books to fill my days.
I feel like I should find a support group just so that I can say, “My name is B and I am addicted to books!”

6 thoughts on “What happens when you go to the library hungry?

    • southpawscribe says:

      Thanks so much for your comment! I love libraries, librarians and other people with book hunger. Being book hungry is one of my favorite feelings; second only to being nearly full after a great reading session.

    • southpawscribe says:

      Fait Simone,

      I’m halfway through my stack right now and it feels so amazing to be able to just dive into all of them; one after the other. I also just finished reading Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe which was not in the pile that I posted. Happy Reading!

      • Faith Simone says:

        I loved that book when I read it as a teenager. I might read it again soon. It’s always interesting to go back and re-read a book from a different level of maturity.

      • southpawscribe says:

        I agree! That’s one of the reasons that I re-read To Kill A Mockingbird, Beloved, The Bluest Eye and A Wrinkle in Time again as an adult. Well, I re-read To Kill A Mockingbird a lot!

Leave a Reply

