The Sleepover

image

It’s night again
Just me and my books
In my bed
These words and characters
Keeping me company
While others are sleeping

These late night sessions
Are such fun
Reminiscent of nights
Spent under the covers with a
Flashlight and a book
Giggling and immersed in a story

It’s like hurtling back
Through time
Just me and one of
my oldest friends
This love of books
Keeps me company

On the many nights
When my constant companion
insomnia; keeps me
Wide awake and
Won’t let me
Sleep

Leave a Reply

