Tribute

Today, I’m sharing with you my most personal piece because this poem jump started my professional poetry career in a sense. I wrote this piece in 1998 (I think). I write it for my mom and grandmother for Mother’s Day. This poem was the water that tore down the dam. It is the piece that caused other people to ask me to write pieces for them and for events. It is the foundation of my poetic career in so many ways. Today, on what would have been my mom’s 57th birthday, I want to share it with you.

Unfortunately, I can’t find the original version so I have to attach the framed copy that I gave my grandmother. You won’t be able to make out the words but it really is just a loving tribute to the woman well women who made me who I am.

Here it is…Tribute

image

Leave a Reply

