When I Love Being A Woman

image

I’ve been working on this piece for a bit and finally decided that it was finished just in time for Women’s Equality Day! Hope you enjoy!
***************************************
When I love being a woman
The words of Lucille Clifton
Are my mantra
Maya Angelou’s Phenomenal Woman
Is my motto
And Nikki Giovanni wrote my self esteem
Those times
It is a wonderful thing
I marvel at my flexibility
My will
My confidence

When I love being a woman
I am all high heels
And glamour
Smoky eyed and full lipped
Even without makeup
I am the spirit of Josephine Baker
Lauren Bacall and Dorothy Dandridge
Even in yoga pants
I am Carmen Jones confident without a red skirt

When I love being a woman
There is no way that I can
Be robbed of the joy, pride
And flawless strength of
Womanhood

Leave a Reply

