There’s Something About the Library

image

As a lifelong reader, I have always had a great romance with the public library. I just think that there’s something amazingly awesome about libraries. No matter where I’ve lived, I’ve always been a patron of public libraries. I don’t know if it’s the free access to books, the knowledge of the librarians or just being among other bibliophiles but I just love libraries.
   I have been extremely lax in visiting my local library this semester. It’s not because I’ve been too busy I just really hadn’t taken the time. So about three weeks ago, on a cold and rainy day, I went to stock up on some reading material. I was not disappointed. I loaded up on a bunch of the latest books.On the day that I went Ta-Nehisi Coates’ Between the World and Me was announced as the nonfiction Nation Book Award winner. I already had it in my hand when I found out.
   One of the reasons that I love the library so much is because of my various reading interests. I can grab some romance novels, nonfiction, mystery and anything else that intrigues me. I am still working my way through the Coates book even though I just returned the bulk of the books I checked out last time. I also checked out two others books that I wanted to read.
   I know that my love of writing is directly connected to my love of reading. Have any of you had great library experiences? What do you love about the library?

Leave a Reply

