Why Left Ear is my Soul Mate

This post is a bit different but it’s about two things that I  really love. Well, three if you count the movie that inspired the post.

Late last Saturday night when I could have been doing anything else I decided to watch one of my favorite movies. And not for the first time, it hit me that I was staring right at my soul mate.

image

If the name sounds familiar yes, I’m referring to Left Ear, the expert in demolitions and explosives aka the bomb making genius, from 2003’s remake of The Italian Job. Yes, I realize that he’s not a real person but he’s still perfect for me. And it’s not because he was portrayed by the artist formerly known as Mos Def. Here’s why, in the movie when the guys are discussing what to do with the proceeds from the heist, Left Ear wanted a mansion in Andalusia with two things:

1.) A library full of first editions
2.) A room for my shoes

And that was proof enough that he was made for me! Books and shoes are two of my major loves. It is rare to come across someone who shares my love of all things literary and my overwhelming shoe habit. It is one of my dreams to have both an in home library along with a shoe room. Not a walk in closet but a room just for my shoes.

Now, I’m the rare bibliophile, I suppose, in that I don’t really care if a book is a first edition. I would love to own some but it’s not really important to me. I just love books and reading. I like to rescue books from shops, thrift stores and yard sales. One of my favorite places in the town where I live is a tea and book shop. I tend to buy a lot of books from there (and Amazon) but most important to me, almost as important as the words is the feel of the book in my hands.  I was late to the ebook party gladly and I still prefer the feel of a book in my hand as opposed to using my tablet. 

The shoe thing is real…they are probably an addiction. Even though I’m loathe to admit it. I collect them with a voracity second only to books. I write poems about them; they appear throughout my writing. Seriously, I have shoes that I can’t remember. Like I forgot all about them until I magically discover them in my shoe store (under my bed). Hence, the need for a room for them.

His desire for two things that I’m always in the market for and his penchant for one liners sealed the deal for me.  I’m off to search for a real life Left Ear.

2 thoughts on “Why Left Ear is my Soul Mate

Leave a Reply

