Something New for National Poetry Month

As most of you reading this know, I love poetry and National Poetry Month. I try to plan events on campus and in my community for the month and this year is no different. I have some things scheduled this year on two campuses and I can’t wait to share them with you (if I can pull them off).

image

But one thing that I want to share right now is that next month, I’m teaching a poetry workshop! Yayyy!!!! Yes, I have taught poetry before and I love sharing my love of the form with my students but this is different. I’m super excited because during this workshop, I’ll be working with high school students and I’m going to be trying some new techniques. It’s an idea that I picked up from reading a book by one of my absolute favorite authors, Christina C. Jones.

My plan is to get the students to write however they best express themselves. To get them to develop their poetry in whatever way works for them regardless of technique. I will be teaching them literary devices, different styles of poems and showing them examples of punctuation in poetry but that’s it. I won’t say to them, that’s now how poetry is written. I can’t wait to see how it works out.

2 thoughts on “Something New for National Poetry Month

  1. Quanie Miller (@QuanieMiller) says:

    What great news! I haven’t gotten the guts to try teaching yet (I’m afraid that I’ll discover I don’t know anything, lol), but maybe after reading about your experiences teaching poetry, I’ll get inspired. Good luck! 🙂

    • southpawscribe says:

      Thanks Quanie! I always feel as if I don’t know what I’m talking about when I stand in front of the class especially when I’m teaching Composition courses. But I feel more comfortable when teaching Creative Writing! So I’m hopeful for this workshop. I definitely can’t wait to share how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

