The Best Laid Plans

Okay, so in March I told you all that I planned to start using a blog planner to start planning my posts. My original post indicated that I would use the planner, an amazing free one that I downloaded from Lambert’s Lately, for all of this month’s posts. I absolutely recommend taking a look at it. I have a few sheets in one of my binders but haven’t used them yet.

Well, epic fail! Lol! What I actually did was write several (maybe six) post ideas on a regular legal pad. These ideas were jotted down and then I  considered whether they were actually fruitful. My plan was to write about each of these topics but I’ve fallen off track. I cannot even find the notebook with the ideas jotted down at this point.

image

However, I did plan all of my posts for last month. Seriously! I just did it in my regular everyday planner. It wasn’t as in-depth as I’d originally thought to do but I usually just type whatever floats from my head before sharing poems. Or I simply post them with an image. I found that I loved knowing what I needed to post for such a post rich month like April when I am committed to sharing the work of so many poets. For this month, having the ideas/topics down has been a bit hit or miss for me. As you may be able to see, I have already posted two of those ideas. This is one that I remembered that I needed to share Sunday night when I should have been grading.

I ordered a blog planner which can be seen on the left in the picture above. I’ve used it once so far. While planning posts didn’t really work out this month the way that I’d hoped. I’m sure that I will give it another try next month. With my “on the blog” planning sheets.

Do any of you use a blog planner? Or plan your posts? What are your tips for successful planning and execution?

3 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans

  1. cestlavieladypatience says:

    Hi. How are you? I don’t use any type of planner. I write and post. It’s that simple when creating poetry. When NaPoMo hit, it kept me on track with what I wanted to write rather than adhering to the 30 day challenge. I like writing micro-poetry these days. It’s fun.

    • southpawscribe says:

      Hi,
      I’m good. How are you? I think that I am finding that the planner aspect isn’t really for me either. I haven’t planned any posts for this month and although I haven’t been as productive as I’d hoped I have been super busy.I haven’t participated in NaPoWriMo but I really want to. I don’t typically plan my posts for NaNoWriMo but I can see how that would be helpful since I’ll be so busy writing. Micro-poetry sounds extremely fun!

      • cestlavieladypatience says:

        I’m well, thanks. Some writers write spur of the moment, and it works for them. I write like that sometimes. Preplanning isn’t my thing when writing poetry, now everything else, I need structure and an informal outline for novellas/novels.

Leave a Reply

