The Invisible

20150619_072519_001

 

I wash your feet with my pride

Feed you my soul for dinner

While I feast on disappointment

and wash the dishes with my tears.

You taught me years ago,

That my existence was life support for you

These lessons are so ingrained in my brain

That I see them when I close my eyes at night.

 

I am staggering under the weight of being your doormat

I spent my nights as your mattress absorbing your dead skin cells

And grafting them onto my own.

I am balling up my emotions with the bed linen

Hoping to wash them clean with hot water

While you go about your day without seeing me.

Leave a Reply

