AM I A NANOWRIMO’ER?

wp-1476999721393.jpg

So I’ve been thinking about this quite a bit lately because of what happened during last year’s event. I wanted to be honest with myself because I hate failure but I don’t know if I have it in me to try again. When I first found out about NaNoWriMo in 2010, I knew that I wanted to try it. Although it took three years before I got the chance, I really enjoyed the process the first two years and I felt enriched and empowered by the experience. Last year, I exploded in an inferno of pressure and a lack of commitment.

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. -Benjamin Franklin

I have been trying to convince myself that I can dedicate the time and energy to tackling the event again this year but I simply have no drive. I have several stories sitting around waiting to be completed but have not made the move to work on them. I have even almost convinced myself that I can complete something by simply sitting down and writing almost every day without having NaNoWriMo as motivation. Usually, I have a notebook together, with the plot outlined and character sketches completed but this year I have nothing. Not even an idea about which story I would tackle. Almost two weeks from now, I should be ready for a series of write in’s but I’m just ready for apple cider, hot tea and snuggling up on the couch to read after work. And I have decided that I’m allowed to do that too.

Is anyone else quibbling over whether to participate this year? If so, what are your other plans?

 

Leave a Reply

