Untitled-James Baldwin


In what may be the single, greatest slip-up of my blogging career (that’s a bit of hyperbole) I realized that I may not have any James Baldin on the blog. Well, I couldn’t call myself a lover of poetry and words without sharing something from another of my favorite literary greats. As soon as this semester is over, I am going to be delving into a lot more Baldwin. I’m looking  forward to revisiting some old favorites and knocking others off of my classics TBR list(yes, that’s a thing in my world). This poem will have to satisfy my Baldwin cravings until then.

Enjoy! 

Lord,

              when you send the rain

              think about it, please,

              a little?

      Do

              not get carried away

              by the sound of falling water,

              the marvelous light

              on the falling water.

          I

              am beneath that water.

              It falls with great force

              and the light

Blinds

              me to the light.

Leave a Reply

