The Original Southpaw Scribe 

I apologize in advance for this rant but I really need to let it out. 

So…a few weeks ago I jokingly said that I was thinking about changing the name of the blog. Well, what I didn’t know at the time was that there is another blog, a fairly new one, with the same name as this one. Okay, essentially the same name. So I immediately began to think about changing the name again. How did I find out? I went looking for two old poetry posts because I was away from my laptop and external hard drive so I Googled the blog. But it didn’t come up. What did come up was this other blogger’s page.  

And just like that, I was instantly saddened. Like what the heck man? This kinda happened with my Instagram last year when another person asked me to change the name that I’ve had since 2011 or 2012. His user name was similar and apparently he had to use two underscores because of my name. I completely understood but ignored him because my Ig name is like my third choice. Southpaw Scribe wasn’t available when I started my account. 

So yesterday, I was searching my brain for another name because I was absolutely about to change the blog name. Seriously. But then I thought about it and decided that I’m keeping Southpaw Scribe. After all, this has been my blog’s name since 2010. It’s on my business cards,it’s linked in my email addresses, on my Instagram and Pinterest, and I’m really attached to it. 

Thank you for reading! I’ll be back tomorrow with some poetry. 

Leave a Reply

