I Went Back-Archie Randolph “A.R” Ammons

​I found this piece in late October while reading an old edition of “Our State”magazine. The title of the section called to me as I sat in a waiting room. It was “10 Poems Every North Carolinian Should Read.” As soon as I got home I began looking online for a copy even though I’d written down the titles of the poems featured. I don’t know anything about the poet but the poem resonated with me. 


I went back
to my old home
and the furrow
of each year
plowed like
surf across
the place had
not washed
memory away.

Leave a Reply

