The Unthinkable

Big announcement…I’m a reader. Like inhale books and keep them, love the smell and heft of them type of reader. But for the past week and a half I have been unable to get into any of my recently purchased books. A few week’s ago, during Amazon Kindle’s sales I was able to purchase Karin Slaughter’s The Kept Woman and Yaa Gyasi’s Homegoing for great discounted prices. I tried started to read The Kept Woman twice. I able lonesome tried another book with no luck at all.

I don’t know what happened or how to get out of this rut. I know it’s not the books; it’s me. The last, new to me,books that I finished were by Catherine Ryan Hyde and then nothing. This is coming able lonesome the worst possible time because I’m currently stuck in the house with nothing to do but grade for an online class.I’ve tried various genres and everything but nothing is catching my attention.

Have any of you ever been in a reading rut? How did you get out of it? I welcome any and all suggestions for how I can fix this craziness. 

2 thoughts on “The Unthinkable

  1. Quanie Miller says:

    This has happened to me before. Maybe you’re burned out on reading or maybe you can’t connect to what you’re reading and need to either search for other books or create something of your own? It sounds like you really miss it, though, so I hope you get back to it soon.

    • southpawscribe says:

      Quanie,

      Thanks so much! I really think it’s burnout. Right after I posted yesterday I went to my thinking place and realized that I probably needed to get started writing something or working on an unfinished piece. I still haven’t read anything but one of my favorite authors released the final book in a series tonight so I’m hoping that I can get into that. But first, grading!

Leave a Reply

